Recipients of the Society's annual token of appreciation.

The award was instigated in 2003 as a symbol of the Society's gratitude to an individual member or group of members who had made an outstanding contribution to the Society and/or Railway over the preceding year.

The award is usually given to the recipient at the Annual General Meeting. The recipient is chosen by the Society’s board of directors and can be nominated by any member; see details of how to nominate a member below.

The award is a half size replica of the original Welsh Highland Railway Snowdon Ranger to Rhyd Ddu (South Snowdon) single line token.

Year Recipient Award given for
2003* Ivan Ball Retiring membership secretary, for setting up the membership database.
2004 Colin Hill Leading K1 team for 9 years.
2005 John Sweet Retiring renewals and membership secretary.
2006 Bob Carnell Retiring treasurer & dealing with Gift Aid claims following registration of Society as a charity.
2007 Alf Williams Outstanding volunteer effort at an average of 5 days per week with the locomotive department at Dinas.
2008 John Sreeves Outstanding voluntary contribution in designing all the major bridges on the reconstructed railway.
2009 Stuart McNair Extraordinary voluntary contribution as civil engineer to Phase Four of the reconstruction of the railway.
2010 David Tidy and Laurence Armstrong Setting up the Society’s website and curating Dr Ben Fisher’s WHR project website following his sudden death.
2011 Barrie Clark For outstanding volunteer effort as a track volunteer from the start of Phase1 to completion of Phase 4 as well as work with K1.
2012 Rob Merrick In recognition of his outstanding work in maintaining and increasing membership numbers and dealing with Gift Aid claims
2013 Roy Woods In recognition of his exceptional work over many years in editing The Snowdon Ranger
2014 Paul Bradshaw In recognition of his outstanding work as leader of the Rest of the World Gang who played a key role in the tracklaying for Phase 4 and Harbour Station
2015 Tony Murphy For exceptional service as Santa on the Santa trains, and many years working with track gangs 
2016 John Ellis Williams For long term service as a track volunteer and in numerous other roles

In 2003 a replica of the token was also given to Roland Doyle in perpetuity, in recognition of his work managing the rebuilding of the railway from Caernarfon to Rhyd Ddu.

Nominating a member for the Society’s Token of Appreciation:

  • The person to be nominated must be a current member of the Society and the person nominating as well as the person seconding the nomination must also be current members of the Society.
  • The nomination must be made in writing to the Society Board's secretary (details on page 2 of The Snowdon Ranger) by the 1st June.
  • The nomination must state clearly the reason, in not more than 250 words why you think that the particular member is worthy in your opinion to receive the token of appreciation.
  • Current Society board members are not eligible to be nominated.