Official Reopening to Pont Croesor & Nantmor Halt Opening

May 26th, 2010

The section from Hafod y Llyn to Pont Croesor station was officially opened on 26th May 2010.  In fact trains had been running as far as Pont Croesor since 22nd May although this was not officially announced.

The train with its invited guests proceeded through the new section to Pont Croesor. By contrast with the intimate views of the Aberglaslyn pass  in the previous section, this section of the line offers open panoramas of the mountains around the Glaslyn estuary: 

Recording inthe open coach - Dave WaldrenPont Dylif - Dave WaldrenViewing the scenery - Dave WaldrenBeside Llanfrothen Road - Dave WaldrenPont Croesor - Steve Johnson Pont Croesor arrival - Andrew ThomasPont Croesor arrival - Andrew Thomas

At  Pont Croesor the party was welcomed by local schoolchildren.  Dr John Prideaux,  Chairman of the Ffestiniog Railway Company, introduced  Dr Dewi Roberts who unveiled the station name board,  witnessed by representatives from the adjacent RSPB Osprey centre:

John Prideaux and Dewi Roberts with the newly unveiled board - Dave Waldren Speeches - Andrew ThomasPaul Lewin with RSPB reps - Andrew ThomasThe crowd - Andrew ThomasThe crowd - Andrew ThomasThe crowd - Andrew ThomasWatching from the train - Andrew ThomasGuarding the RSPB ladies - Andrew ThomasRight away with the trainee guard - Andrew ThomasRunning round at Pont Croesor station - Steve Johnson Leaving Croesor - Andrew ThomasLeaving Croesor - Steve JohnsonPont Dylif - Dave Waldren

The proceedings were filmed by John Wooden and compiled into a 7m58s video which is available on YouTube at the link below

The train returned to the new Nantmor Halt,  built in memory of  Ben Fisher, originator of this website who passed away last year.  An opening ceremony was performed by Dr Dafydd Gwyn who dedicated the station to Ben's memory and unveiled a plaque commemorating him.  Dafydd Thomas,Chairman of the Welsh Highland Railway Society, read out a message from Roy Fisher, Ben's father who was prevented from attending the ceremony by illness.  Also present was Mrs Elen Jones (in the red coat below) whose father worked on the original Welsh Highland Railway; she well remembers riding on the trains before the line closed in the 1930's.

Nantmor opening - Andrew ThomasNantmor opening - AndrewThomasNantmor opening - Andrew ThomasPlaque to Ben Fisher at Nantmor - Andrew ThomasNantmor Halt - Dave Waldren

The final ceremony was at Beddgelert station in which the two National Railway Heritage Awards  won by the railway in 2009 were unveiled. The Ian Allan Publishing Award for "Heritage Railway of the Year" went to the Welsh Highland Railway. The Ian Allan Publishing Award for the best overall entry in 2009 went to the Welsh Highland Railway Construction Ltd for restoring and
reopening the line.  In the picture are Andy Savage,  Executive Director of the  Railway  Heritage Trust,  Robin Leleux, chairman of the judges, and David Lane representing the Ian Allan group, .

Heritage Awards - Dave Waldren

Back to WHR Project homepage, or Special Events.
Website authored by Ben Fisher; last updated September 19th, 2010 by Laurence Armstrong